KTM sets eyes on Dakar 2018

ktm dakar

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team is contemplating its 17th consecutive title

Since 2001, the motorcycle class in the gruesome Dakar rally has been dominated by Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, finishing on the top-step of the podium in all of the last 16 events. This year, the four-rider line-up of Sam Sunderland, Matthias Walkner, Toby Price and Antoine Meo is joined by KTM Factory riders, Laia Sanz and Luciano Benavides. The riders are keen to uphold the record by claiming the 17th consecutive title.

2018 Dakar sees the debut of the new KTM 450 Rally, following its launch at EICMA in November 2017. According to KTM, the new bike is faster, more powerful and yet easier to be pushed around, than the previous iteration. The riders will face a grueling 14-stage rally that starts in the dunes of Peru, travels over the mountains of Bolivia before finishing in the arduous terrain of Argentina.

Running from January 6 to 20, the 40th edition of the Dakar Rally will see over 500 competitors cover 10,000km during its 15 days duration. The 2018 event will be the 10th edition to be held across South America.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top